Blog Post 9- Digital Storytelling Assessment Rubric

rub1rub2

When creating my assessment rubric on my community helper digital story, I choose to focus on four of Ohler’s digital story assessment traits.  The traits I selected were; story, originality, voice and creativity, flow, organization and pacing, and a sense of audience.  According to the Ohler article, “Assessing Digital Stories”, it is imperative that clear goals are set for digital stories.  This is why I decided to focus on only four of Ohler’s digital story assessment traits.  I wanted to ensure that the goals for the assessment were very clear, and did not want to focus on too many assessment traits.

I choose to focus on assessing the story because I believe that it is very important to tell a well articulated, engaging story, that makes sense, in addition to incorporating technology.  Ohler wrote, “assessing a digital story based solely on a student’s command of the technology is like assessing a student’s short story based solely on his or her command of grammar”.

In addition to assessing the story, I decided to assess originality, voice and creativity.  This assessment trait was important to me because when teaching early childhood education, it is very important to convey information in a fresh, original and unique manner.  In a digital story, this can be done through the script and through video.

I also chose to assess the flow, organization and pacing of the digital story.  This was important to me because when creating digital stories there is a lot of planning involved.  If planning is done in a successful manner then the digital story will be well organized, the video and script will match the the story, and the story will effectively move from part to part.

Finally, I decided to assess the sense of audience.  Since I will be an early childhood educator, it is important to make sure that the information I present is appropriate for my audience.  If it is not, the students will become disengaged and the objective will not reach the students.

I believe that assessing these four assessment traits will ensure that digital stories are high quality and effective.  If these assessment traits are met, the digital story will be very engaging and offer a fresh perspective for viewers.

Leave a Reply

Tammy McBean

ED586 Ed Tech

Chelsea Leboda

Education Technology (386)

Allie McGreer

John Carroll University ED 386

Nick De Core

ED 386 Educational Technology in the World

Kevin C. Callahan

ED 586 Educational Technology in the World

Educational Technology in the World | Dr. Shutkin

ED386 & ED586 educational technology integration, workshop and field study

Sarah McCrea

Portfolio for ED 586

Mary Ann

Educational Technology in the World

