Blog Post 1- Introductions

Personal information
1. What is your first name? Please use your preferred name, nick name, etc.
Alanna

2.  Where are you from?
I grew up in Strongsville, Ohio and currently live in Lakewood.

3. Please insert a picture of yourself in your profile

4. What are you into; what makes you special? Share a few “unique” aspects about yourself that would help our classroom community get to know you a bit.
I love to stay active through yoga and spinning class.  I also love trying out new restaurants and exploring Cleveland, it seems as if something new is always popping up!  My fiance and I bought a house in Lakewood last spring and have been doing a lot of projects to make it our own.  I think I am a very creative person and like to have those ideas come through in our house.  I also enjoy taking trips when I have the opportunity, my favorite place I have ever visited is Iceland!

Learning Style and more:
5. Being as specific as you can, what must be in place for you to feel comfortable taking intellectual and creative risks in a course?
I feel as though I can feel comfortable taking intellectual and creative risks through writing and creating rather than traditional paper and pencil tests.  In addition, I take more risks and feel more comfortable when the classroom environment feels accepting of others and an inclusive environment.  Although not everyone will have the same views, it is important to respect all opinions to maintain an inclusive environment where people will take creative risks.

What have you been reading?
6. I want to know what matters most to you about education.  To this end, please share with the class an essay that is essential to your interests/concers as a preservice teacher. (Include the reference to the essay [chapter, article, website] and a few sentences about its significance to you).
http://www.npr.org/books/titles/149081720/wonder#excerpt
I recently read Wonder by R.J. Palacio where the main character, Augie, was born with a facial deformity and is about to enter fifth grade where he will be attending a traditional school for the first time.  While at school Augie faces bullies and faces people who become great friends.  He also has the support of many faculty members.  This story was a very important one to me as I become a teacher because I always want my classroom to be a safe place for students and where all differences will be accepted.  In addition, I also want to serve as a figure of support for all of my students should they ever need to talk to someone.  At the end of Augie’s fifth grade year he was excited to come back for sixth grade because throughout his journey he ultimately felt safe and accepted at school.

About Dr. Shutkin:
7. Write down a question or two that you would like to ask me about myself or the class.
Dr. Shutkin, what matters most to you in regards to education?
Are you excited about the increased use of google classroom in schools?

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. I was just in Iceland in August! It was unreal – I’d love to go back during the winter and see the Northern Lights!
    I’ve also been meaning to pick up Wonder – is it good?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tammy McBean

ED586 Ed Tech

Chelsea Leboda

Education Technology (386)

Allie McGreer

John Carroll University ED 386

Nick De Core

ED 386 Educational Technology in the World

Kevin C. Callahan

ED 586 Educational Technology in the World

Educational Technology in the World | Dr. Shutkin

ED386 & ED586 educational technology integration, workshop and field study

Sarah McCrea

Portfolio for ED 586

Mary Ann

Educational Technology in the World

